Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

November 22, 2012

Three Cited as IBCA/Subway Players of the Week

INDIANA -- Hanover Central senior Blayr Poston, Winchester senior Jill Morrison and Bedford North Lawrence sophomore Jenna Allen have been recognized as this week's IBCA/Subway Players of the Week.

Poston, a 5-8 wing, was the honoree in District 1 following a 36-point onslaught in Hanover Central's 58-46 victory over Highland. Poston made 10-of-21 shots, including 3-of-8 3-pointers, as well as sinking 13-of-15 free throws en route to the outstanding performance. She also contributed three rebounds, two assists and four steals as the Wildcats improved to 2-1.

The 5-7 Morrison was recognized in District 2 after averaging 27.0 points over two games for Winchester. The Ball State signee opened her season with a 37-point barrage in a 68-49 triumph over Tri. She then produced 17 points in 44-37 win over Jay County as the Golden Falcons improved to 2-0.

Allen collected District 3 accolades after averaging 21.0 points and 8.0 rebounds in leading Bedford North Lawrence to triumphs over Mooresville and Jeffersonville. Allen notched 15 points and eight rebounds in a 65-45 win over the Pioneers. The 6-3 post player followed with 27 points and eight boards in a 62-46 triumph at Jeffersonville. For the two games, she hit 17-of-19 shots and 8-of-12 free throws.

This is the fifth season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the first season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a primary sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its third season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to "play hard and eat fresh."

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA's three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 2. Boys winners will be chosen starting in two weeks and through the week following March 23.

Other nominees for Week 2 (2012-13)

District 1 --
Shana Anderson, Triton; Sydney Buck, Homestead; Shawna Carbone, Prairie Heights; Ally Christman, Fort Wayne Dwenger; Keshyana Cooper, Michigan City; Andrijana Cvitkovic, Culver Academy; Brandi Dawson, Garrett; Deja Felder, Goshen; Jordann Frasure, North Judson; Jaclyn Heath, LaPorte; Naomi House, Hammond Noll; Whitney Jennings, Logansport; KiLee Knafel, Wawasee; Nicki Monahan, Portage; Khadijah Moore, Elkhart Memorial; Dariyan Morris, Merrillville; Carah Ochs, Glenn; Morgan Olson, NorthWood; Breanne Paulik, Rochester; Haley Schrock, Northridge; Miranda White, Fremont.

District 2 -- Lela Crawford, Tipton; Lauren DeSutter, Tri-West; Sara Dickey, Riverton Parke; Celeste Edwards, North Central; Peyton Fallis, Heritage Christian; Kenzie Gustin, Pendleton Heights; Emily Harrison, Western Boone; Maddi Kramer, Randolph Southern; Emily Loew, Cathedral; Bridget Perry, Roncalli; Sydney Shelton, Mt. Vernon (Fortville); Kristen Spolyar, Lebanon; Caitlin Tolen, Benton Central; Brittany Ward, Pike; Destiny Washington, Lawrence North; Cali Wetli, Southmont; Alaynie Woollard, New Castle.

District 3 -- Leslie Beatty, Borden; Sarah Cook, Rushville; Jessie Davidson, Austin; Samantha Dewey, Triton Central; Deauna Evans, Greenwood; Beth Fischer, Evansville Mater Dei; Taylor Frederick, Corydon Central; Leah Hampton, Castle; Mikah Hemmings, Cannelton; Janisha Lindsey, Evansville Bosse; Tanner Marcum, New Albany; Ali Patberg, Columbus North; Courtney Perkins, Mitchell; Adrienne Pritchard, Terre Haute North; Caroline Rick, New Washington; Rhagen Smith, Sullivan; Annie Thomas, Southwestern (Shelby); Lauren Whitlatch, Bloomington South; Jackie Young, Princeton.

Previous 2012-13 winners

Nov. 7-12 --
District 1 girls: KiLee Knafel, Wawasee. District 2 girls: Mackenzie Taylor, Richmond. District 3: Justice Burden, Charlestown.


Indiana NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos HickoryHusker.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.